="http://www.w3.org/2000/svg" viewBox="0 0 512 512">

Recommended Accompanying Resources

Chapter One: Getting Started: Nine Muses

Stafford, William. “A Way of Writing” http://ualr.edu/rmburns/rb/staffort.html

Hugo, Richard.

“Writing Off the Subject” http://ualr.edu/rmburns/rb/hsubjt.html

The Triggering Town http://ualr.edu/rmburns/rb/htrigt.html

Whitman, Walt. Song of Myself http://www.english.illinois.edu/maps/poets/s_z/whitman/song.htm

Walt Whitman: An American Experience. PBS Documentary. http://www.pbs.org/wgbh/amex/whitman/

Museum of Modern Art. Most viewed exhibits. http://www.moma.org/explore/most_viewed 

Crawford, Matthew. The World Beyond Your Head: On Becoming an Individual in an Age of Distraction. New York: Farrar, Straus and Giroux, 2015.

Chapter Two: Images

A Thesaurus

Chapter Three: Voice

Burroway, Janet. Writing Fiction.

Glossary of Poetry Schools and Movements. The Poetry Foundation. http://www.poetryfoundation.org/learning/glossary-terms?category=schools-and-periods

Chapter Four: Architecture

Oliver, Mary. Rules for the Dance. http://maryoliver.beacon.org/2009/11/rules-for-the-dance/

Longenback, James. The Art of the Poetic Line. https://www.graywolfpress.org/books/art-poetic-line

Chapter Five: Acoustics

Pinsky, Robert. The Sounds of Poetry. http://us.macmillan.com/thesoundsofpoetry/robertpinsky

Chapter Six: Experimenting with Forms

Skelton, Robin. The Shapes of Our Singing. http://www.amazon.com/The-Shapes-Our-Singing-Comprehensive/dp/0910055769

Strand, Mark and Eavan Boland. The Making of a Poem. http://books.wwnorton.com/books/The-Making-of-a-Poem/

Chapter Seven: Revision

The Poet’s Billow. www.thepoetsbillow.org

Chapter Eight: Publishing

The Poet’s Market. http://www.writersdigestshop.com/2015-poets-market

Poets and Writers www.pw.org

NewPages.com www.newpages.com

Chapter Nine: Reading Your Poems to an Audience

Moyers, Bill. The Language of Life. http://billmoyers.com/series/the-language-of-life-with-bill-moyers-1995/

The Library of Congress Archive of Recorded Poetry and Literature. http://www.loc.gov/poetry/recorded-poetry/

The Geraldine R. Dodge Poetry Video Archive. http://www.dodgepoetry.org/archive/video/

Poetry Everywhere with Garrison Keillor. PBS. http://www.pbs.org/wgbh/poetryeverywhere/

License

Icon for the Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-ShareAlike 4.0 International License

Recommended Accompanying Resources by Michelle Bonczek Evory is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-ShareAlike 4.0 International License, except where otherwise noted.